Find Your Program


trojan watermark.jpg


trojan watermark.jpg

AU News

Media Comm Students, Faculty Member Win Mercury Awards

May 9, 2023
newsmedia 18172.jpg
Media Communication students were recognized at the Mercury Awards luncheon and professional development conference in Columbia. From left to right, Communication Department Chair Robert Reeves, 2022-2023 AU PRSSA Chapter President Morgan Lane, 2023-2024 AU PRSSA Chapter President Adam Edwards and 2022-2023 AU PRSSA Chapter Public Relations Director Cade Tessmann.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.


Students and an adjunct faculty member from the Anderson University College of Arts and Sciences were recently recognized with two Silver Wings Awards of Excellence in the annual Mercury Awards, sponsored by the South Carolina chapter of the Public Relations Society of America.

Students in the Fall 2022 Public Relations Research and Evaluation course were recognized for work to help Meals on Wheels Anderson better understand and serve the organization’s volunteers. To conduct the research, the students developed an online survey, conducted focus groups and analyzed the data to create a comprehensive report. 

The Meals on Wheels Anderson Research Team consisted of Joseph Heckel, Olivia Jones, Morgan Lane, Caroline Mason, Madilyn McCown, Maegan Mosher, Thomas Pudney, Cooper Reynolds, Anna Grace Singleton, Cade Tessmann and Kinnidy Thoreson.

Students in the Editing and Layout course were recognized for work they did in producing the Winter 2022 and Summer 2022 issues of Synthesis, the magazine of Anderson University’s College of Arts and Sciences:

Summer 2022 issue – Jennifer Ames, Nadia Castillo, Emerson Courtney, Adam Crawford, Hannah Crouch, Abby Durst, Abby Gorman, Cara Johnson, Morgan Lane, Grace Matthews, Gabe Miller, Shelby Parker, Dinah Rogers, Daniel Similton, Clancy Stauffer, Anna Weeks and Herlinda Zevallos.

Winter 2022 issue – Hanna Bautista, Emmerette Boice, Colin Calvert, Grace Cox, Drayton Farmer, Olivia Growe, Ryan Gundersen, Marissa Haskell, Maegan Mosher, Alley Pridmore, Jacob Robinson and Camden Segura.

In addition to the student awards, Karen Potter, an adjunct faculty member in the Communication Department, was recognized as the W. Thomas Duke Distinguished Public Relations Practitioner for 2022. In addition to teaching at AU, Potter has had a long career in public relations, serving such organizations at Prisma, BMW and Tri County Technical College.

“It is always a thrill to see our students recognized by the broader professional community for the excellent work they do,” said Robert Reeves, chair of the Communication Department. “We are seeking to prepare these students to be leaders in their professions in the years ahead and they are demonstrating that they are ready to take on those roles.”

“It’s also an honor to have Karen Potter as part of our extended faculty in the Communication Department,” Reeves added. “She is one of the very best in our state in the public relations profession and this honor is well-deserved. We are very fortunate to have her preparing our students.”


News Release Contact

Executive Director for Public Relations