Skip to main content
AU Trojan
Governor Names AU President to Higher Ed Post
March 26, 2015

Anderson University President Dr. Evans P. WhitakerAnderson University President Dr. Evans P. Whitaker has been appointed by Governor Nikki Haley to represent independent colleges and universities on the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education. His appointment was confirmed by the State Senate on March 26, 2015.

Dr. Whitaker has served as president of Anderson University since 2002. He is a member of the South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees and a past chair of the SCICU Council of Presidents. Dr. Whitaker also served as a Trustee of the Commission on Colleges of The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, which is the regional accrediting body for educational institutions in the South, from 2008-2013. 

The South Carolina Commission on Higher Education is governed by a board of 15 members who are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the State Senate. The commission serves as the coordinating board for the state’s 33 public institutions of higher learning and provides statewide policy direction, management, and oversight of the state’s higher education enterprise.